September 30, 2003

MEETING NOTICE

Senator Ray Holmberg, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE**, including the **HIGHER EDUCATION ROUNDTABLE**.

- Date: Tuesday, October 21, 2003
- Time: 9:00 a.m.
- **Place:** West Heritage Room, Doublewood Inn, I-94 and Exit 159, Bismarck
- Agenda: Presentation by Mr. Dennis Jones, President, National Center for Higher Education Management Systems, Boulder, Colorado, of an overview of higher education and challenges for the future, and a discussion by Higher Education Roundtable members regarding plans for higher education and related accomplishments and how higher education can play an even larger role in enhancing the economy of North Dakota and other issues
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Senators Ray Holmberg, Tim Flakoll, Tony S. Grindberg, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething; Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Thomas Brusegaard, Bette B. Grande, Kathy Hawken, Nancy Johnson, Frank Klein, Bob Martinson, Eugene Nicholas, Darrell D. Nottestad, Steven L. Zaiser
- Roundtable Members: Hardin Aasand, Sue Andrews, John Botsford, Ann Burnett, Linda Butts, Joseph A. Chapman, Bruce I. Christianson, Beverly Clayburgh, Blaine DesLauriers, Jennifer Feist, Bruce Furness, Bill Goetz, Nicholas Hacker, Gary D. Hagen, Don Hedger, Dennis Hill, Larry Isaak (ex officio nonvoting), Jim Jensen, Dennis Johnson, David Kemnitz, Ralph Kingsbury, James Klein, Dale Knutson, Pamela Kostelecky, Richard Kunkel, Charles E. Kupchella, Wayne Kutzer, Philip Leitner, Gloria Lokken, Carty Monette, Don Morton, Ryn Pitts, Ken J. Quamme, Roger Reierson, Warren Robinson, Wayne Sanstead, H. Erik Shaar, Tom Shorma, Chuck Stroup, Donna Thigpen, Sister Thomas Welder, Curtis L. Wolfe (ex officio nonvoting), Delore Zimmerman
- Staff Contacts: Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Roxanne Woeste, Senior Fiscal Analyst

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/AJC