NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND COMMITTEE

Monday and Tuesday, March 22-23, 2004 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

Monday, March 22, 2004

9:00 a.m. Call to order

Roll call

Consideration of minutes from previous meeting

9:05 a.m. Presentation by the Legislative Council staff regarding No Child Left Behind cost

reports from Ohio and Minnesota and legislative action in other states

9:45 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Wendy L. Evans, Deputy Secretary's Regional Representative,

United States Department of Education - Region VIII, regarding the history and

future of the No Child Left Behind Act

10:30 a.m. Coffee break

10:45 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Gary Gronberg, Assistant Superintendent, Department of Public

Instruction, regarding administration and implementation of the No Child Left Behind

Act

11:00 a.m. Presentations by Mr. Greg Gallagher, Director of Education Improvement,

Department of Public Instruction; Dr. Mark Heidorn, Director of Program Operations, Northern Region, CTB/McGraw-Hill; Dr. James Comerford, Central District Manager, CTB/McGraw-Hill; and Dr. Thomas Fisher, State Assessment Technical Advisor, Fisher Education Consulting, regarding implementation of the No Child Left Behind Act, federal regulatory changes, state assessments, alignment, and accountability

12:00 noon Luncheon recess

1:00 p.m. Panel presentations continued

Committee discussion
Comments by others

4:00 p.m. Recess

Tuesday, March 23, 2004

9:00 a.m. Presentation by Dr. Charles DeRemer, Assistant Superintendent, Fargo Public

School District, regarding implementation of the No Child Left Behind Act

9:15 a.m. Presentation by Ms. Janet Welk, Executive Director, Education Standards and

Practices Board, regarding highly qualified teachers

10:00 a.m. Coffee break

10:15 a.m. Comments by others

Committee discussion

Staff directives

Adjourn 12:00 noon

Committee Members
Representatives RaeAnn G. Kelsch (Chairman), Bob Hunskor, Lisa Meier, David Monson, Margaret Sitte, Clark Williams Senators Dwight Cook, Layton Freborg, Gary A. Lee, Ryan M. Taylor, Rich Wardner