NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Thursday, April 1, 2004 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call Consideration of minutes of previous meeting
9:05 a.m.	Comments of Tax Commissioner Rick Clayburgh regarding the tax amnesty program under 2003 Senate Bill No. 2015 and relating to income tax study activities of the Taxation Committee
9:15 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Katherine Strombeck, Tax Department, regarding statistical information on 2002 income tax returns and the fiscal effect of possible adjustments to individual income tax return alternative forms
9:45 a.m.	Presentation by Ms. Mary Loftsgard, Tax Department, relating to income tax issues regarding passthrough entities
9:50 a.m.	Presentation by a Tax Department representative regarding income tax treatment of military personnel
10:00 a.m.	Coffee break
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Dan Bucks, Executive Director, Multistate Tax Commission, regarding individual and corporate income tax issues and other study topics assigned to the Taxation Committee
11:45 a.m.	Presentation by Mr. Cory Finneman, Department of Commerce, relating to recent business tax climate studies completed for the department
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by Mr. Gary Anderson, Tax Department, of a bill draft for North Dakota compliance with the streamlined sales tax agreement
1:15 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota League of Cities relating to city efforts to comply with the streamlined sales tax agreement
1:30 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives relating to streamlined sales tax issues
1:45 p.m.	Coffee break
2:00 p.m.	Presentation by Ms. Marcy Dickerson, Tax Department, relating to application of the sales ratio study, agriculture property valuation, changes in taxable valuation among property classifications, and data on assessment of exempt property
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the North Dakota Association of Assessing Officers relating to assessments of exempt property
2:45 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding property tax issues
3:00 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Division of Tourism relating to sales tax receipts on lodging under 2003 Senate Bill No. 2337 and expenditures for promotion of the Lewis and Clark Bicentennial celebration

3:15 p.m. Committee discussion and directives

3:30 p.m. Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Dwight Cook (Chairman), Ronald Nichols, Randy A. Schobinger, John O. Syverson, Harvey Tallackson, Ben Tollefson, Thomas L. Trenbeath, Herb Urlacher, Rich Wardner Representatives Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, David Drovdal, Mike Grosz, C. B. Haas, Craig

Representatives Larry Bellew, Wesley R. Belter, David Drovdal, Mike Grosz, C. B. Haas, Craig Headland, Ron Iverson, Frank Klein, Phillip Mueller, Kenton Onstad, Arlo E. Schmidt, Elwood Thorpe, Dave Weiler, Ray H. Wikenheiser, Dwight Wrangham, Steven L. Zaiser