MEETING NOTICE

Representative Al Carlson, Chairman, has called a meeting of the BUDGET COMMITTEE ON **GOVERNMENT SERVICES.**

Date: Thursday, February 23, 2006

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda: Presentations by representatives of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding an update on the number of state inmates, the effect of mandatory sentences on prison populations, the availability of federal funding to address North Dakota's correctional and incarceration needs, and on the status of development of the department's 2007-09 biennium budget request; by representatives of the Corrections Corporation of America regarding options North Dakota may consider for addressing its incarceration and facility needs; by representatives of the North Dakota Association of Counties regarding the possibility of housing additional state prisoners in expanded county facilities; by representatives of the Attorney General's office regarding procedures involved in approving a Missouri River bank stabilization project on state land and on the process involved in granting an easement on state property; by representatives of the Department of Transportation, Highway Patrol, and Parks and Recreation Department regarding their performance and accountability systems; by representatives of the Department of Veterans Affairs regarding the status of its strategic plan and performance measures; and other presentations, including presentations by the Legislative Council staff of a bill draft exempting certain prison facilities from medication dispensing requirements, a bill draft requiring the Office of Management and Budget to maintain an inventory of state-owned real estate, and of memorandums relating to bistate authorities

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Al Carlson, Randy Boehning, Ron Carlisle, Kari Conrad, Duane DeKrey, Jeff Delzer, Glen Froseth, Eliot Glassheim, Bette B. Grande, James Kerzman, Joe Kroeber, Ralph Metcalf, Darrell D. Nottestad, Ken Svedjan, Blair Thoreson, Dave Weiler, Alon C. Wieland; Senators Duaine C. Espegard, Aaron Krauter, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Stanley W. Lyson, Dave Nething

Staff Contacts: Allen H. Knudson, Assistant Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/JFB