## **MEETING NOTICE**

Representative Al Carlson, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **BUDGET COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT SERVICES**.

Date, Time, and Wednesday, September 21, 2005, 10:00 a.m., Training Room, Cass County Jail,

450 34th Street South, Fargo

Place:

Thursday, September 22, 2005, 9:00 a.m., Second Floor, Administration Building, James

River Correctional Center, 2521 Circle Drive, Jamestown

Agenda:

Budget tour of the James River Correctional Center in Jamestown; tours of the Tompkins Rehabilitation and Correction Center and the State Hospital's sexual offender unit in Jamestown and the Cass County Jail in Fargo; presentations by representatives of the James River Correctional Center, the Tompkins Rehabilitation and Correction Center, and the State Hospital's sexual offender unit regarding facility populations, costs, programs, and future facility plans; by a representative of the State Auditor's office regarding the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation performance audit; by representatives of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding inmate population statistics, facility needs, and responses to the performance audit; by the Attorney General regarding the state's incarceration guidelines; by representatives of the Cass County Jail regarding population statistics, facilities, and treatment services; by a representative of the Association of Counties regarding a survey of county jail facilities; and comments by local governmental officials regarding the committee's study of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation's incarceration and correctional facility needs

**Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Al Carlson, Randy Boehning, Ron Carlisle, Kari Conrad, Duane DeKrey, Jeff Delzer, Glen Froseth, Eliot Glassheim, Bette B. Grande, James Kerzman, Joe Kroeber, Ralph Metcalf, Darrell D. Nottestad, Ken Svedjan, Blair Thoreson, Dave Weiler, Alon C. Wieland; Senators Duaine C. Espegard, Aaron Krauter, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Stanley W. Lyson, Dave Nething

**Staff Contacts:** Stephanie A. Johnson, Fiscal Analyst

Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible. Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/CS