MEETING NOTICE

Representative Al Carlson, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **BUDGET COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT SERVICES**.

Date, Time, and Tuesday, October 11, 2005, 9:00 a.m. (MDT), Dakota Women's Correctional and

Rehabilitation Center, 440 McKenzie Avenue, New England

Place: Wednesday, October 12, 2005, 9:00 a.m. (CDT), Roughrider Room, State Capitol,

Bismarck

Agenda:

Budget tours of the Missouri River Correctional Center, State Penitentiary, and Roughrider Industries in Bismarck; tours of the Dakota Women's Correctional and Rehabilitation Center in New England and the Southwest Multi-County Correction Center in Dickinson; presentations by representatives of the Missouri River Correctional Center, State Penitentiary, and Roughrider Industries regarding facility populations, status of budgets, programs, and future facility plans; by representatives of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding inmate population statistics, inmate population projections, and responses to the performance audit; by a representative of the Dakota Women's Correctional and Rehabilitation Center regarding housing state female inmates, the status of the construction of maximum security cells, and daily inmate housing and medical rates; by a representative of the Southwest Multi-County Correction Center regarding population statistics, facilities, and programs available; and comments by local government officials regarding the committee's study of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation incarceration and correctional facility needs

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Al Carlson, Randy Boehning, Ron Carlisle, Kari Conrad, Duane DeKrey, Jeff Delzer, Glen Froseth, Eliot Glassheim, Bette B. Grande, James Kerzman, Joe Kroeber, Ralph Metcalf, Darrell D. Nottestad, Ken Svedjan, Blair Thoreson, Dave Weiler, Alon C. Wieland; Senators Duaine C. Espegard, Aaron Krauter, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Stanley W. Lyson, Dave Nething

Staff Contacts: Stephanie A. Johnson, Fiscal Analyst

Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor