MEETING NOTICE

Representative Al Carlson, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **BUDGET COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT SERVICES**.

Date: Wednesday, November 30, 2005

Time: 8:30 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck, and Youth Correctional Center and Teen Challenge Center,

Mandan

Agenda:

Presentations by representatives of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation regarding inmate populations, inmate housing requirements, costs of the State Auditor's office performance audit recommendations, the October 2004 architect study of the east cellhouse, female inmate medical expenses, and the status of the 2005-07 biennium female inmate housing contract; by a representative of the Dakota Women's Correctional and Rehabilitation Center regarding the status of the 2005-07 biennium female inmate housing contract, and total medical expenses and the average length of stay for female inmates at the center; by a representative of the North Dakota Building Authority regarding the state's outstanding debt, the general fund lease payment limit, and the amount of new bonds that may be issued during the 2007-09 biennium; by a representative of the judicial branch regarding statistics on the number of individuals in county jails who are released on bond, and comments relating to the committee's study of the state's incarceration and correctional facility needs; by a representative of the Office of Management and Budget regarding pilot agencies for the government performance and accountability system pilot project; budget tour of the Youth Correctional Center; and tour of the Teen Challenge Center

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Representatives Al Carlson, Randy Boehning, Ron Carlisle, Kari Conrad, Duane DeKrey, Jeff Delzer, Glen Froseth, Eliot Glassheim, Bette B. Grande, James Kerzman, Joe Kroeber, Ralph Metcalf, Darrell D. Nottestad, Ken Svedjan, Blair Thoreson, Dave Weiler, Alon C. Wieland; Senators Duaine C. Espegard, Aaron Krauter, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Stanley W. Lyson, Dave Nething

Staff Contacts: Stephanie A. Johnson, Fiscal Analyst
Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

JDO/JFB