MEETING NOTICE

Senator Ray Holmberg, Chairman, has called a meeting of the HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE.

Date: Thursday, July 13, 2006

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Place: Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck

Agenda:

Comments by a representative of MGT of America, Inc., relating to committee member requests for clarification of recommendations and explanation of supporting information relating to the final report for the higher education funding and accountability study; presentations by representatives of the North Dakota University System regarding the State Board of Higher Education implementation of the recommendations included in the final report for the higher education funding and accountability study, an overview of the University System's 2007-09 budget request, parity and equity funding issues, the final report regarding faculty written and verbal English proficiency, dual-credit programs, and the status of the P-16 Initiative; presentations by representatives of North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota regarding peer funding formulas and the effect of funding for agriculture research experiment stations and extension and the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences; comments by members of the private sector regarding the higher education funding and accountability study; and committee discussion and consideration of bill drafts relating to the continuation of legislation passed by the 2005 Legislative Assembly

Special Note: Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.

Committee Members: Senators Ray Holmberg, Tim Flakoll, Tony Grindberg, Nicholas P. Hacker, Ed Kringstad, Elroy N. Lindaas, Dave Nething, David O'Connell; Representatives Ole Aarsvold, Larry Bellew, Tom Brusegaard, Lois Delmore, Mary Ekstrom, Kathy Hawken, Nancy Johnson, Andrew G. Maragos, Bob Martinson, Darrell D. Nottestad, Mark S. Owens, Earl Rennerfeldt, Steven L. Zaiser

Staff Contacts: Roxanne Woeste, Senior Fiscal Analyst Jim W. Smith, Legislative Budget Analyst and Auditor

Any member who is unable to attend this meeting is asked to please notify this office as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

John D. Olsrud Director

JDO/AC