July 11, 2005

## **MEETING NOTICE**

Senator Dick Dever, Chairman, has called a meeting of the **BUDGET COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES**.

- Date: Thursday, July 28, 2005
- **Time:** 9:00 a.m.
- **Place:** Roughrider Room, State Capitol, Bismarck
- Agenda: Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of background memorandums regarding the committee's responsibilities to study the state's public health units, costs and benefits of adopting a healthy North Dakota and workplace wellness program, Medicaid medical reimbursement system, services provided by and payments provided to residential treatment centers and residential child care facilities, state programs providing services to children with special health care needs, and to receive reports from the Department of Human Services regarding statistics and projections relating to the medical assistance program; the status of an amendment to the Medicaid state plan regarding the disregard of assets for individuals owning a long-term care insurance policy, regarding the implementation of the prescription drug monitoring program, relating to management of the medical assistance program, regarding developing and implementing a plan for the Medicaid program relating to the Medicare prescription drug program, regarding the status of the Medicaid waiver to provide in-home services for children with extraordinary medical needs, regarding the department's review of its budget, programs, and services; and on the department's plan to transfer appropriate individuals from the Developmental Center to community placements during the 2005-07 biennium; and other presentations, including comments by representatives of the Department of Human Services and State Department of Health regarding the studies and responsibilities assigned to the committee
- **Special Note:** Anyone who plans to attend the meeting and needs assistance because of a disability should contact the Legislative Council staff as soon as possible.
- **Committee Members:** Senators Dick Dever, Richard L. Brown, Tom Fischer, Aaron Krauter, Judy Lee, Russell T. Thane, John M. Warner; Representatives Jeff Delzer, William R. Devlin, Lee Kaldor, James Kerzman, Gary Kreidt, Ralph Metcalf, Jon O. Nelson, Vonnie Pietsch, Chet Pollert, Todd Porter, Louise Potter, Clara Sue Price, Sally M. Sandvig, Ken Svedjan, Gerald Uglem, Alon C. Wieland