NORTH DAKOTA LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Tentative Agenda

TAXATION COMMITTEE

Wednesday, July 31, 2013 Roughrider Room, State Capitol Bismarck, North Dakota

9:00 a.m.	Call to order Roll call
	Comments by the Chairman
9:05 a.m.	Review of the Supplementary Rules of Operation and Procedure of the North Dakota Legislative Management
9:10 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the committee study of the property tax system
9:30 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the study of the property tax system
10:00 a.m.	Break
10:15 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum regarding the committee study of controlling the growth of property tax levies
10:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the committee study of controlling the growth of property tax levies
11:15 a.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the committee study of effectiveness and accountability of property tax exemptions and other economic development incentives granted by cities and counties
11:45 a.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the committee study of effectiveness and accountability of property tax exemptions and other economic development incentives granted by cities and counties
12:00 noon	Luncheon recess
1:00 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on applying property tax rates against true and full value of property
1:30 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the study of applying property tax rates against true and full value of property
1:45 p.m.	Presentation by a representative of the Office of State Tax Commissioner of a review of the information contained in the 2012 Property Tax Statistical Report
2:15 p.m.	Break
2:30 p.m.	Presentation by the Legislative Council staff of a background memorandum on the committee study of the forestry stewardship tax
2:45 p.m.	Committee discussion and directives regarding the forestry stewardship tax study
3:00 p.m.	Adjourn

Committee Members

Senators Dwight Cook (Chairman), Randall A. Burckhard, Jim Dotzenrod, Lonnie J. Laffen, Ronald Sorvaag, Jessica K. Unruh

Representatives Wesley R. Belter, Jason Dockter, David Drovdal, Glen Froseth, Patrick Hatlestad, Craig Headland, Jim Kasper, Jerry Kelsh, Scot Kelsh, Mike Nathe, Mark S. Owens, Dan Ruby, Jim Schmidt, Robin Weisz, Steven L. Zaiser

Staff Contact: John Walstad, Code Revisor